The 2018 Football Award Finalists:


Once identified and nominated, selected student-athletes were required to complete Action Items including completing a Biographical Form and submitting photos to become eligible as a finalist.   While a very large majority of selected Student-athletes completed those tasks, there are a handful of outstanding football players and cheerleaders that did not complete the action items and therefore are not recognized as a finalist.  It’s very important to note that we can’t proceed if we receive no communication from selected Student-athletes.

The Player of the Year Awards will be announced in advance of the night as those players are unable to attend due to Shrine Bowl and a Major College Visit.


Quarterback of the Year
Aaron Scott North Mecklenburg
Nigel Summerville Vance
Casey Kelly Mallard Creek
Running Back of the Year
Charles Mincy, Jr. Mallard Creek
Jaylen Coleman Porter Ridge
Elijah Burris Mountain Island
Michael Neel Charlotte Catholic
Receiver of the Year
Max Brimigion Weddington
Keyon Lesane Butler
Nolan Groulx Hough
Elijah Bowick Myers Park
Offensive Lineman of the Year
Billy Hambrook Charlotte Catholic
Will McDonald Porter Ridge
Jaylen Nichols Myers Park
Hudson Reynolds Providence Day
Tavien Ford Olympic
 Parker Moorer
 Mallard Creek
Defensive Lineman of the Year
 Terrell Dawkins  Cox Mill
Jacolbe Cowan Providence Day
Gavin Reeder Providence
Kevin Coss Charlotte Catholic
Linebacker of the Year
Osita Ekwonu Providence Day
Eamon Murphy Weddington
Jack Wilkes Providence
James Price Piedmont
Jack Wilton Sun Valley
John Demas Country Day
Defensive Back of the Year
Gabe Jeudy Ardrey Kell
Jeremiah Gray Charlotte Christian
Jaylen Frazier Hough
Brian Jacobs Charlotte Catholic
Special Teams Player of the Year
Brian Jacobs Charlotte Catholic
Doug McLaughlin Porter Ridge
JahTwan Stafford Monroe
Malik Barber Hough
Kicker of the Year
Jason Stricker Marvin Ridge
Caden Bonoffski Comm. Sch. of Davidson
Ian Williams Weddington
Jared Wheatley Porter Ridge
Camden Lewis Hough
Punter of the Year
Jared Wheatley Porter Ridge
Dylan Weybrecht Olympic
Rising Star of the Year
Will Shipley Weddington
Gavin Blackwell Sun Valley
Ian Hutter Marvin Ridge
Power Echols Vance
Leo Arredondo Butler
Drake Maye Myers Park
Rising Star Special Teams Player of the Year
Eddie Czaplicki Providence
Matt Lathan Union Academy
Riley Stubbs Hickory Ridge
Scholar Athlete of the Year
Chris Panko Cuthbertson
Will Kakavitsas Providence
Cullen MacQuarrie Charlotte Catholic
Cam Maddox Sun Valley
Carter Dowling Providence Day
Jake Harkleroad Myers Park
Bradley Moorehead Weddington
High School Football Leadership Award
Jaylen Chappelle Berry Academy
Maximus Helms Monroe
Ryan Goldstein Weddington
Trevor Grant Cuthbertson
Trey Shepherd Monroe
Christopher Walton Charlotte Catholic
Peyton Pounds Providence
Middle School Leadership Award
Ben Baker J.M. Robinson
Cade Nicholson Charlotte Christian
Brooks Stankavage Community House
Middle School Special Teams Player of the Year
Jack Rouse Community House
Jackson Moore Marvin Ridge
Sam Weber Harris Road
Middle School Player of the Year
Carson Black Sun Valley
Chris Peal Lake Norman Charter
Toney McFadden Jr. Sun Valley
Brooks Stankavage Community House
Comeback Player of the Year
Jatoine Fields Myers Park
Jake Hawkins Mountain Island Charter