The South Mecklenburg High School Baseball Program has been named the Queen City Audio, Video and Appliances Community Heroes Award Winner.   The Sabres Baseball Program teamed up with the University City Y for the fourth consecutive year to raise funds for the Miracle League.  The Miracle League at the University City YMCA removes the barriers that keep children with mental and physical disabilities off the baseball field and lets them experience the joy of America’s favorite pastime. Since the main barriers for these children arise from the natural grass fields used in conventional youth leagues, the Miracle League teams play on a custom-designed, rubberized turf field that accommodates wheelchairs and other assertive devices while helping to prevent injuries.


The event raised $8,300 for the Miracle League and was matched by sponsor Planet Fitness to bring the total to $16,600 raised for the University Y Miracle League.  Fundraising activities included a silent auction, raffle for a $500 gas card, baseball gear and apparel, a  wonderful Bake Sale and the annual South Meck Sabres Alumni Baseball Game.


Brady Burnett, son of Myers Park High School Baseball coach Matthew Burnett, threw out the first pitch.  Brady plays for the Miracle League!


Queen City Audio, Video and Appliances  salutes  the South Mecklenburg High School Baseball Program for their continued commitment to the University Y Miracle League,









Sabres Junior Varsity

Front Row:  (L-R)  Clint Fowler, Reese Gamble, Steven Tejada, Ryan Terte,

Spencer Patterson, Gavin Birkheimer, Trey Steiner, Jamelle Moore


Back Row:  (L-R)  Greg Hommes, Bradley Fabian, Carter Hipps, Jake Slattery,

Alex Fenton, Jackson Beam, Bo Bodine, Jaydon Burwell, Connor Gibbs







Sabres Varsity

Front Row:  (L-R) Coach Jon Tuscan, Juan Diaz, Daniel Cline, Andrew Motsinger, Tony Figueroa,

Nick Reynosa, Carter Loesch, Eric Jones, Chris Brown, Coach Joe Colandro


Back Row:  (L-R) Coach Dusty White, Coach Robin Tench, Max Bazin, Reed Hedberg, Christian Umphlett,

Colby Bruce, Lawson McArthur, Austin Smith, Jon Bagyi, A.J. Elam, Coach Will Condon